And Away We Go!

HOW THE NEW YEAR IS LIKE A CARNY SLIDE

As we usher in the new year, we may find ourselves, like many people, contemplating changes we wish to make and goals we wish to achieve in 2011.

It’s fun to establish a fresh slate and embark on a new course.

It’s so fun, in fact, that it reminds me of the FUN SLIDE, found at fairs and carnivals all over the world. Known by different names, the Fun Slide is the giant, wavy slide, on which burlap bags or rugs are ridden, as seen above.

Since many places in the Northern Hemisphere are covered with snow right now, let’s return to the balmy months of summer for a few minutes to contemplate how best to approach the new year like Fun Slide riders, shall we?

I’ll use my mother and myself as examples.

1. Here, I’m setting up my poor, decrepit mother with her burlap sack and offering her lots of reassurance. Notice how she trusts me.

BE PREPARED BEFORE YOU BEGIN A PROJECT.

ALSO, CHOOSE YOUR ADVISERS WISELY.

2. Now I’ve taken my place beside her, and, holding hands, we launch!

EMPLOY THE BUDDY SYSTEM.

RESOLUTIONS ARE BEST KEPT WHEN THERE IS SOMEONE TO SUPPORT YOU.

3.  And…she’s down! Oh no! We should have reviewed Newton’s Laws of Motion: Velocity. Air resistance. The timely engagement of abdominal muscles.

ANTICIPATE THE UNEXPECTED.

4. My mother slides the entire way down on her back, and I laugh so hard, I pee.

OFTEN, THE YEAR DOESN’T TURN OUT EXACTLY AS ANTICIPATED.

JUST DO YOUR PART.

RELEASE YOUR ATTACHMENT TO RESULTS (but never to your mother’s hand).

ENJOY THE RIDE.

This entry was posted in Life, Transformation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And Away We Go!

  1. Hahahahahahahahahaha… Brilliant.

    And keeping in theme with one of my (just-decided-upon) qualities for this year – play!

    A year’s worth of adorations in advance,
    Reba x

  2. Krsna Kumari says:

    Happy New Year dear one!
    This is brilliant, funny, sweet! Love the photo progression.
    Jaya Mata Jaya Radhe !
    hugs
    kk

  3. Kaleena says:

    Love it. In my experience, the support of loved ones and abdominals are key factors in the quest for self-improvement. Well done. The pictures are a riot. :)

Leave a Reply

